31 days of a new normal {day 2}

This post is the first in a month-long series.  You can read the rest of the posts here.

If you missed yesterday’s post, I kicked off this series by announcing that my “new normal” may be called fibromyalgia.  Karen has a great post on her blog that explains fibro from a sufferer’s point of view, if you’re needing education like I did.

While I’m waiting on that phone call from my doctor regarding all the blood tests, it seemed like a good day to talk about my symptoms.

In February of this year, I began having dizzy spells and felt more exhausted than I thought I should.  In March, I started having pain/tingling in my left arm.  From there, it has progressed to wide-spread muscle and joint pain, an achy, flu-like feeling, weakness in my hands, unusual skin sensitivity, light sensitivity… Good times, y’all.  All these symptoms come and go randomly.

I started with my general practitioner, saw a neurologist, then another neurologist, and finally, got to a rheumatolgist yesterday.  I think I’m in the right place now, and the point is that whatever the diagnosis, this condition isn’t going away, save a miraculous healing from God.  (And who would turn that down?!)  My job is now to fight with all my might while learning coping skills to adjust to life as it is.  What a dichotomy.

6 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 2}

  1. God’s got your back!

    2 Corinthians 12:9 King James Version (KJV)

    9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

  2. Lauren, I feel your pain. Well maybe not your actual pain but a similar kind. I’m in the process of being diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome. Nine years ago I was diagnosed with RA but none of the treatment I did seemed to help. Even though I’m sad that I 95% chance have EDS it is such a relieving feeling when you actually find your correct diagnosis. When you see all your crazy symptoms on one page together it’s strangely beautiful. I’m saying a prayer right now for you as your are going through this process. If It’s not fibro, I pray that you will find out what it is soon so that you can begin to treat now.

    • Wow, Reeve. I just read about EDS for the first time the other day. I completely understand that place of “I don’t care what kind of news it is, just give it to me!” And, feeling that frustration of never having any diagnosis completely match, yup – I can see how there would be much relief there. I’m going to try to remember to pray for you whenever I look at my guitar case. Does it hurt you to play?

      • Thanks for the prayers. I love the idea – so I’ll attempt to pray for you everytime I see my keyboard;)

        My fingers and wrists hurt pretty much all the time. The guitar doesn’t make it worse, unless I am playing a long gig…around hour two I start feeling it.

        Although my hands are the least of my struggles, it’s mainly my knees, ankles, feet, and hips. They seem to be getting worse every month. But – as my pastor says God uses us inspite of our weakness to bring glory to God. So I will keep dancing with the kiddos and give God all the praise everyday I can.

Comments are closed.