31 days of a new normal {day 3}

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

I was definitely a bit edgy yesterday.  I tried to control it so that it wouldn’t spew out all over the kids, but my voice got a little too thin when I had to repeat directions and my patience ran a bit short while I waited for those instructions to be followed.  Too many sighs of complaint, ya know?

Lionness

Lionness (Photo credit: tshantz)

My 3 year old is, well, a 3 year old.   His “I wanna watch mooooore TV” whine, preceded by kicking his sister and laughing at her and succeeded by a firm “NO!” to my go-brush-your-teeth command set me off like a lionness bitten by one too many flies.  And a few minutes later, he apologized, ’cause he’s sweet, too.  I apologized for losing my temper.  Then he slowly approached me, put his hand on my shoulder, and carefully asked, “Mom, what did the doctor say?”

It melts my heart that even though many people will not understand the fluctuation of my symptoms and subsequent ability/inability, my kids get it.  During prayer on their beds, my 6 year old reached over and rubbed my back.  It hurt like crazy because she was hitting a sensitive patch, but I wasn’t about to stop her from showing compassion.

If you like reading stories of people who in progress, check out more here. WIPWednesday

8 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 3}

    • Thanks! The more I write, the more I realized that my old header wasn’t quite giving the impression of what I really write about. Now that I think about it, maybe the new one is too rock star. 🙂

      • I think it looks awesome. The colors are unique which I like. No one else has a blog that looks like this. Your header is great too. I think it looks very sophisticated. The shading adds a lot as well.

Comments are closed.