31 days of a new normal {day 5} help from a friend

This post is part of a month long series.  You can read the rest here.

My friend Tracie sort of seems like Superwoman to me.  She’s raising 4 daughters, blogs and guest blogs, travels frequently, and is living with Multiple Sclerosis.  When all this craziness started going on, I reached out to her because I felt she would understand had already stalked her blog and knew about her illness and path to diagnosis.  MS is something we were trying to rule out for quite a while. It’s almost off the table.

I’m past the point of wondering if I’m making a bigger deal out of my symptoms than I should, but there were several months when I wondered if a) I was crazy or b) I was a hypochondriac or c) I was a crazy hypochondriac.

Many people have faithfully patted me on the back, saying, “Keep going!  You need answers!” including my husband. However, nothing motivated me like emails from Tracie saying, “If it is MS, you don’t want to waste time.  Every nerve damaged can never be repaired.” (my paraphrase)  If she was afraid that I couldn’t handle news like that, she didn’t allow my best interest to suffer because of it.  As I’ve dealt with worsening symptoms over this last month, I am so grateful that I’m not any further away from treatment!

I wonder what kind of information each of us carries around that might benefit others but that we’re afraid they can’t handle…

