31 days of a new normal {day 12}

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

I missed two days of posting!  Aack!  Well, I had good reason, and I’ll go back and fill in days 10 and 11 when I get a chance.  If that’s weird, then oh well.

So, I’m looking at going gluten-free.  I’ve read in a few places where that diet has helped some people with fibro symptoms, and then my mom called with her serious “I know you don’t want to hear this but I’m going to tell you anyway for your own good” tone.  Beat ya to it, Moms.  I’m already signed up for the Gluten Free Cooking School emails.

I’ve never dieted.  Occasionally, I’ll pick a food-related goal, like one soda per week.  But a strict diet?  Nope.  Is this going to be hard?  Maybe.

One good thing?  I’ve been eating cinnamon Chex for breakfast.  Thank you, Chex, for making something I can eat without preparing food for 15 minutes.

Mom tells me that lots and lots of people are going gluten-free right now, but maybe only 1% of the population has a real gluten allergy.  Great!  There’s plenty of room in my raft if anybody wants to ride!  If this works for me (to any degree!) then I’m thrilled that enough people are committing to this diet to influence food companies.  Five years ago, I’d never heard the word “gluten,” and now my mom brings pasta, pancake, and ginger-snap packages marked “gluten-free” to our vacation.

Isn’t she the sweetest?

One thought on “31 days of a new normal {day 12}

Comments are closed.