31 days of a new normal {day 14} effects on our marriage – part 1

Recap: Something is wrong with my body, and I haven’t received a diagnosis yet.  Doctors have ruled out a lot of things, and we are now peering down the microscope at fibromyalgia.  I’m writing a post every day (ahem, sorta) in October to help me process the fact that whatever this thing is called, it’s very likely here to stay.  It’s my new normal.  You can read the rest of the posts here.

Well, then. Didn’t intend to miss another day of this series, but we were on a really long road trip and I left my laptop in the car and I was too tired to go get it and I’m not into typing a whole post on my phone {thankyewverymuch, Brian G} and yadda yadda yadda…

About a year and a half ago, my husband said to my pregnant self, “Babe, I think we’re done.”  He was referring to having more children — not our marriage.  I said with a grin, “So you’re saying I’m difficult?”  He said with a smaller grin, “Ummm… I’m just saying that I don’t think we can survive another pregnancy.”  I think he was referring to the marriage at that point.  I don’t know when this medical malady started, but I know that my husband has borne his share of the load plus most of mine for a long time.  We kept waiting after Nate was born for me to feel a little stronger.  There was always some reason that seemed to explain my fatigue, but now I look back and think it was more than just the baby not sleeping through the night.

…to be continued tomorrow…

