31 days of a new normal {day 17} effects on me as a musician – part 1

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

I found this video yesterday doing some research for the high school music classes I teach.  I yelled out “WOAH!” in the computer lab at about 0:42.  Thankfully, no students were present, because another faculty member heard me, joined me to watch it, and she yelled out, too.  (I made a new friend!  Yay!)

I think placing this video within this post serves two purposes.  It proves that I am totally nerdy about music, and it proves that we’re all wired to be musical.  (Side note: When Bobby says “everywhere” in the video he means everywhere — not just America.)  I’m a musician because I’m human, and I’m a musician by profession.  Removing that from me would rip out a huge part of my identity.

More tomorrow on how my new normal and music are working together

3 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 17} effects on me as a musician – part 1

  1. I think I could watch that over and over and over all night long. Made me remember how I love music. Real music and the basics. I was singing along with the audience!

  2. That was a great video and I will share it. I so wish I knew more and understood more about music. I can not sing on key what ever that means; I am so bad I can not sign off key either. I’ve been told how bad I sign on more than one occasion but I really do not know what it means to be “on key”. Anyway I know enough that when I sign with a group I sign so only I can hear. 🙂 Alone I let loose. May God help anyone who is near me when I am signing and I think I am alone. I admire you who are good with music. I started to say good at music but I think you are good “with” music.

Comments are closed.