31 days of a new normal {day 20} thick skin

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

Shout out to all the peeps with thick skin.  Mad props, ’cause you go hard.

Ahem.  Back to my other voice.

I had two interesting experiences today when sharing with friends about my new normal this year with symptoms and doctors and search for help.

“Oh, yeah. *sniff*  Fibromyalgia. That’s a catch-all for when they don’t know what’s wrong with you.”   Well, that does seem to be true in some cases, but why does it feel that someone is writing me off personally when they’re only dismissing a diagnosis?  I’m certain my friend wasn’t saying that she didn’t believe that I hurt or am fatigued or randomly feel like my skin is on fire…  Heck, I don’t even know if that’s the right diagnosis for me, but maybe I was offended for people who are actually being helped by fibro treatments.  Still processing.

The Holistic Approach of Alternative Medicine ...

The other reaction was a bit more helpful, perhaps because she didn’t make it about me at all.  She simply shared about her own story of chasing doctors with conflicting opinions and finally landing on a chiropractor who practices holistic medicine.  Most of me is “all in” with the theories that she spoke of, and yet a tiny part of me is a bit skeptical, never having experienced it.  I hope she didn’t feel judged in the least by my response, like I did with the above reaction.  I hope she felt appreciated for sharing something that might help me.

2 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 20} thick skin

  1. We like to think that all of medicine is pure science and facts; it is sobering when we see how much is guessed at and a theory. All the more reason to demand to know what is fact and what is guess work and to show compassion on those fighting to figure it all out.

  2. Pingback: 31 days of a new normal {day 29} the long, boring one where i tell you what the doc said | laurenwlutz

Comments are closed.