31 days of a new normal {day 22} compassionate kids

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here. I love this picture of my two oldest kids.  They seem like best buddies here.  Sometimes they are!  Sometimes.

It’s too easy to think of how Mom feeling tired all the time might affect them in negative ways.  No parent ever wants her kids to feel shortchanged because of her own shortcomings, and yet, we all know it happens.  That’s why our kids are at (or very near) the top of my list every day for reasons to do the things that feel hard.

But I see something good developing in my kids because of how I’m feeling – not in spite of it!   My son covered me with a blanket and gave me a kiss the other night while I lay on the couch.  No one asked him to help me.  He just thought Mom needed to be cared for.  My daughter randomly rubs my back when she thinks I’m tired and prays for me to feel better at bedtime.

I pray that compassion blooms into a defining character trait for each of them.  This is how our God works:  He takes what seems ugly and uses it to make beautiful things.

2 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 22} compassionate kids

  1. I agree. I am writing my mother 30 letters for Christmas(thanks to inspiration from Leanne Penny writing her mother here http://leannepenny.com/) My mom is still living and I hope these letters will bless her. In one of the letters I wrote her I mentioned something that I had suffered through as a young boy and never thought any good would come out of it until about 30 years later I was able to share it with my children to help them through something similar. Not only will your children’s compassion grow but there character will too as they watch you deal with something that is hard to deal with. You will give them confidence that they can handle things that are rough as well.

    That picture looks very professional.

Comments are closed.