31 days of a new normal {day 25} when bad news is good

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.  You know you want to.

Good news!  I tested positive for Lyme Disease!

That’s how a text message started that I sent to a few folks this afternoon.  I intended some humor behind it, but I am genuinely excited to have some new data to plug into the equation.

Only problem is, whichever test they did is quite unreliable.  Of course, I knew that when I requested to be tested for Lyme. Tomorrow I to am supposed start antibiotics, I guess for just-in-casies that the test is correct.  An appointment is being made with an infectious diseases doctor who will explain more to me, and if that is any time in the next few days, I think I’m going to wait on those antibiotics.  This has been going on since February as best I know.  I can wait a few more days. I’m not digging 3 weeks of antibiotics for no reason.

The blacklegged tick (Ixodes scapularis), the ...If you’re wondering how I could be bitten by a tick and completely miss the rash and flu-like symptoms… I think it’s possible.  The flu was in full swing in February.  Also, I have another lovely autoimmune disease called dermagraphia that causes hives from head to toe.  I could have been bitten on my scalp and missed it, too!  Still unlikely, but it could happen.  Are ticks even out in February?

If this can be diagnosed, will that rule out Fibromyalgia?  Probably not.  I am keeping my appointment with Neuro Doc #2 for this Monday.  We’ll have a grand time discussing symptoms that have popped up since I saw him last, gallons of bloodwork results, and maybe his son’s piano skills.

3 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 25} when bad news is good

  1. Ha! That’s how I felt about my husband’s test too! It beat the alternative, in his case. Although like you said about fibromyalgia, he still may have it. I’m so happy for you that you have some direction!! I’ll be interested to hear about your antibiotics regimen.

Comments are closed.