31 days of a new normal {day 26} from fast to frail

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

I’m quite tired of talking about myself at this point in the series.  Really, that happened about a week ago.  Today, may I share the story of someone else’s new normal?

I have a friend who used to be a runner.  She could work an on-your-feet job for 10 hours, cook dinner for her child, mow the grass, and then go out and run 3 miles.  I don’t know too many people with that kind of stamina.  I forgot to mention that she was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at age 12.

Runner - Brighton Marathon 2011I think it was around 40 that she was diagnosed with cancer.  By the mercy of God, she beat it.  Then a few years later, she had to have a aortic valve replacement.

Guess what?

She doesn’t have the stamina she used to have.  You’re not shocked?

I think my friend is still shocked several years later.  Major health events have taken their toll on her body in so many ways, and she struggles to accept her new normal.  While I hurt for her as she wrestles life and frustration in frail flesh, I admire the tenacity with which she clings to her dream of being healthy.  Most of us would have given up after what she’s experienced.  We would have stopped expecting ourselves to be able to do much, but she hasn’t.

There’s wisdom in recognizing your reality, and there’s beauty in the hope for change.  This is the dichotomy that we all have to live with, isn’t it?

4 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 26} from fast to frail

  1. Lauren, I just wanted to thank you for the comment you wrote on my blog today about how my post on motivation touched you. Thank you for telling me that. You made my day. Truly. It’s comments like this that keep me motivated (ha!) to write.

    Sandy
    The Scoop on Balance

Comments are closed.