31 days of a new normal {day 28} i think a change will do you good

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

Leaving the pocketbook, forgetting the deadline, needing to have the dorm room re-keyed 3 times, losing the password, “OH!  Oh my gosh!…” These have all, unfortunately, been staples of my days.  If my mom could have put the word “focus” on repeat in my bedroom CD player while I cleaned up, she would have.

I am not naturally neat or organized, but I’ve come so far!  Ask my husband.  The only time I lose my keys anymore is if it takes extra-long to dig through the trash and receipts in my pocketbook to find them.  I really need you to believe that I’m not a hopeless case, because I’m about to dish more embarrassing dirt.

My bedroom most frequently looks like 10-year-old-me lives in it.  I know I’m not the only one out there, and I know 98.4% of those people want to change.  Here comes help:

We don’t have to do it all at once.

Ohhhhhh snap.  She just got profound and unbelievably original.

English: view into Grand Canyon from South Rim...

Over the phone I related to my sis, “I have to get rid of half my stuff.  Of course it’s messy when there’s not a place for it all!  The problem is, the times when I get energy and the times when I’m free haven’t collided yet.”  Can I tell you how lovely it was to hear my sweet sister say to me tonight, “Well, I’m going to call you out on this one in love, Lauren.”  [OH, MAN.  HERE IT COMES.  SHE’S GOING TO TELL ME I’M A SLOB.  I HATE MYSELF.]  “You don’t have to do it all tonight.  Just pick up 5 things off your floor and choose 2 to give away.”  [Oh, right.  I don’t hate myself.]

We all have our battles.  One of mine is fatigue.  Whatever yours is, be reminded of the tortoise and the hare.  Be reminded of Edison changing that filament out 1600 times.  Be reminded of the Grand Canyon.

My sister, butterflies, and even God Himself are into change over time.  It must be the way to go.

One thought on “31 days of a new normal {day 28} i think a change will do you good

  1. I agree with your sister. I think alot of things in life if we worked on them a little consistently we would be surprised how much we get done over a period of time. I usually try to commit only short periods of time to doing things(I usually go longer) and this helps me stay committed to working on them.

Comments are closed.