31 days of a new normal {day 29} the long, boring one where i tell you what the doc said

This post is part of a month-long series.  You can read the rest here.

Today. was. FABULOUS.

  • I had the pleasure of taking the kids to school.
  • I enjoyed a whole day to myself.
  • I received quality care from a doctor and his staff.
  • I ate (gluten-free) chipotle salmon, rice, & steamed broccoli for lunch.
  • I  purchased birthday presents at the best big box store that ever was.  (Target.  Duh.)
  • I rifled through piano sheet music in a warehouse for a couple of hours and bought a huge stack for 70% off.  Some of it was even for me!
  • I had a peppermint hot chocolate.
  • I came home to a huge box marked “heavy.”
  • I attended a school book fair, and…

I didn’t hurt today!

Way back when, I set a limit of 200 words on each post for this series.  Then I spent more time editing than I did writing, so I upped the limit to 300 without even telling you.  So sneaky am I. Muah ha ha ha. Now I don’t even care about a limit, but here is the shortest worthwhile synopsis of the fascinating conversation I had with Neuro Doc #2…

ND2 explained the Lyme results to me, and I understood some of it.  He was glad to hear I will to be seeing an Infectious Diseases doctor but recommended I do my homework before I go.  He is glad to get me in ASAP with one he feels confident in if I don’t like my guy.  I asked him outright where he stood on the Lyme controversy, and he sidestepped the question a bit.  He worked with Lyme patients a good bit when he practiced in the Northeast and feels it’s very unlikely that I have it.  Simply put, “Lyme patients get worse, and you’ve gotten better in the last two weeks.”

He was quite interested in the skin sensitivity that I experienced for about two weeks and did a quick skin test.  I had no unusual sensitivity today, and he mentioned that shingles are a possible explanation.  Apparently they can affect the nerves without showing up in the skin.  It seemed to be a “I’m throwing this out there so you’ll know we’re covering the bases, but I’m not pursuing this one” kind of thing.

We talked again about my prior MRIs, and something in the way I described the symptom that prompted the neck MRI caught his attention, whereas last time it didn’t stand out.  We scheduled an MRI to look at the whole spine, because Multiple Sclerosis is still an option.  I’m finding that my obsession with word choice is an advantage in this journey if I allow it to be.

ND2 confirmed that fibro is on the table, but we’re not ready to label it as such because “it’s a diagnosis of exclusion.”  Yeah, me and all 4 of my readers know about this.

The gluten-free diet was of little interest to ND2.  Maybe it’s working, maybe it’s coincidental.

I’m so encouraged by today.  I’m a week away from an ID doc appointment and an MRI, and that’s two steps closer to an answer.

In other news, my mom is awesome.

That’s a lot of g-free, y’all.

6 thoughts on “31 days of a new normal {day 29} the long, boring one where i tell you what the doc said

      • You are to be admired for sharing your struggles through all of the unknown and the great attitude you have had through it all.

  1. Hi there, Lauren. I haven’t had time to read all your posts, but let me start by saying how impressed I am at all you gals who took the 31 day challenge. Since we’re just hmc11 buddies, I didn’t know about your struggles, but I’m taking time to connect with you hmc11 bloggers so I can know how to pray for you.

    May God continue to guide your path to healing, and may this journey draw you to a greater intimacy with Him.
    Hugs from VA,
    Susan

Comments are closed.