how to get folks talking for no reason

I leave the high school chorus room and head straight out into the parking lot, blazer on one arm, clear party glass full of bubbly, golden beverage in my hand. I’m singing to myself, like I do far too often. I stumble in my heels and slosh said beverage all over said blazer.  I try to play it off and keep heading for my car.

Black High HeelsOh, hello couple in the truck 25 feet in front of me probably waiting for your grandson to come out of the locker room.  Thanks for staring. 

Never mind that it was white grape juice and ginger ale for a party to celebrate a retiree.  Never mind that the parking lot is full of rocks, and my middle name isn’t Grace. Never mind that no group of teachers in their right mind would drink on campus.  (Don’t Google that, readers.  You’ll find reports of teachers drinking on the job, and I’ll remind you that they weren’t in their right minds.)

I can tell, sweet couple, by the look on your faces that you think I’m actually that stupid.

Ah, well.

remember3More importantly, it’s a pretty amazing thing to celebrate someone who has served students for 30 years.  Congratulations, Mr. Don Greene… Teacher of 3rd Grade Me, Elementary Choir Genius, Rhythm & Staff Reading Taskmaster, and Encourager of Many.  May you spend all summer in your garden of Eden (I mean, yard) without a single sunburn, and may you never, ever again have to write a lesson plan in yet another new format.

7 thoughts on “how to get folks talking for no reason

  1. We tend to assign reasons of our own to those that stumble. We are quick to judge whenever we see evidence of a stumble or slip or a fall. That we would let go of the inner need to judge the reason. That our first impulse would be to see if they needed help after the stumble or fall and not the impulse to judge the reason why.

  2. LOL I’m sorry, I can just visualize this buahahahahahahaha! Clutz! Love you!

  3. Girl..you have to have seen the looks on peoples faces when I fell down the steps at church on Sunday…with a glass like that on my hand….lol

Comments are closed.